About The Family Foundation of Virginia

Preserving Virginia’s Foundation

The mission of The Family Foundation is to strengthen families in Virginia by applying founding principles and faith to policy and culture. The organization seeks to establish through citizen advocacy and enactment of Virginia law a safe, prosperous and wholesome climate for families. All of its public policy decisions are based on the principles of life, marriage, parental authority, constitutional government and religious liberty.

Founded in 1985, The Family Foundation has steadily grown to become the largest and most influential Virginia-based organization of its kind. The Family Foundation now resides in downtown Richmond, just a few hundred feet from the state Capitol and General Assembly Building. Today, The Family Foundation comprises a full-time professional staff in Richmond, coordinating grassroots efforts of a network of tens of thousands of pro-family, citizen activists throughout Virginia. The organization is wholly supported through the voluntary generosity of Virginians, their churches, businesses, foundations and civic organizations.

In our history, The Family Foundation has established a reputation among Virginia lawmakers for extensive research capabilities and in-depth analysis of prospective legislation. By researching issues, educating lawmakers, providing critical data, research and analysis, and coordinating statewide support for positive initiatives designed to enhance the culture in Virginia, The Family Foundation has become an important asset for members of the Virginia General Assembly.

Our values have a voice. The Family Foundation’s work starts at home with the family, equipping parents and youth with a variety of networks and resources so they can plug into important values issues. Communities benefit by the Family Foundation’s pro-family perspective in the media, as well as local briefings, nationally-renowned speakers, and published educational materials. In Richmond, the Family Foundation is your advocate for pro-family values in the General Assembly, strategizing with elected officials and testifying in legislative committee meetings.

Non-profit and non-partisan, The Family Foundation of Virginia is the Commonwealth’s oldest and most influential pro-family advocacy organization, having celebrated dozens of pro-family victories in its history.

The Family Foundation and Family Foundation Action have also seen electoral success.

The Family Foundation Action produces one of the most sought after political documents in Virginia, the General Assembly Report Card. Released every two years, this voter education document reveals how legislators actually voted on key values related proposals. In 2009, more than 100,000 Report Cards were distributed.

 

Click here for current paid and unpaid opportunities.

You can read our statement of faith here.

 

Victoria Cobb, President
victoria@familyfoundation.org

Chris Freund, VP, Policy and Communications
chris@familyfoundation.org

Dan Thompson, VP, Advancement
dan@familyfoundation.org

Roger Pogge, Grassroots Director
roger@familyfoundation.org

Jessica Cochrane, Policy Analyst
jessica@familyfoundation.org

John Downer, Advancement Projects Coordinator
john@familyfoundation.org

Dale Oostdyk, Business Manager
dale@familyfoundation.org

Jackee Gonzalez, Grassroots Coordinator
jackee@familyfoundation.org

Marie Edwards, Executive Coordinator
marie@familyfoundation.org

Audrey Jackson, Advancement Officer
audrey@familyfoundation.org

David Moxley, Action Political Director
david@familyfoundation.org

More staff information»